California DUI Laws Prohibit the Following:
- Drivers over the age of 21 operating a motor vehicle with BAC 0.08 or higher;
- Drivers under the age of 21 operating a motor vehicle with BAC 0.01 or higher;
- Drivers operating commercial vehicles with BAC 0.04 or higher; and
- Drivers under the age of 18 operating a motor vehicle with any trace of alcohol.
In California, Penalties for a DUI conviction are as follows:
- First time offenders in California may face jail time ranging from 96 hours to 6 months. Also, first time offenders face suspension of their driver’s license for 6 months. Monetary fines can range from $1,000 to $1,6000. First time offenders must also complete a court approved Driving Under the Influence Program which can be for 3 to 6 months depending on the blood alcohol level and other circumstances at the time of the arrest. Most first time offenders will be placed on three years of probation and can even be ordered by the court to install an Ignition Interlock Device. Finally, first time offenders are required to maintain SR22 for four to six years.
- A person convicted of a second DUI in California may be sentenced to jail for 90 days to 1 year. In addition, second offense carries a 2 year suspension of the driver’s license and fines ranging from $1,000 to $1,900. A second offender must also complete a Driving Under the Influence Program and maintain SR22.
- A third DUI conviction in California carries jail time ranging from 120 days to 1 year and fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,000. In addition, a third DUI conviction leads to license suspension of up to 3 years and the offender is designated as a “habitual offender.” A third offender may apply for a restricted license, but only after 1 year of the conviction. Finally, the offender must complete a Driving Under the Influence Program and maintain SR22.
- A person convicted of a fourth DUI in California may be sentenced to jail or prison. In addition, monetary fines range from $1,000 to $3,000 and a license suspension of up to 4 years. The court will also order the fourth offender to install Ignition Interlock Device (this is mandatory for a fourth DUI conviction). Finally, the offender must complete a Driving Under the Influence Program and maintain SR22.