Whether you are fired or you quit, when you leave a job you are entitled to any wages earned before leaving the job. Exactly when you get that paycheck depends largely on state law. The Fair Labor Standards Act states only that you should receive a paycheck in a timely manner. Most states have enacted laws stating exactly when you are entitled to a paycheck.

State Employee entitled to paycheck:
Alabama Not specified
Alaska If terminated, within three days
If quit, next regular payday
Arizona If terminated, within three days
If quit, next regular payday
Arkansas If terminated, within seven days
If quit, next regular payday
California If terminated, immediately
If quit, within 72 hours (unless the employee gave 72 hours notice, then due on last day of employment)
Colorado If terminated, immediately
If quit, next regular payday
Connecticut If terminated, next business day
If quit, next regular payday
Delaware Next regular payday or seven days, whichever is earlier
District of Columbia Four days
Florida Not specified
Georgia Not specified
Hawaii If terminated, immediately or the next day
If quit, next regular payday (unless gave one pay period’s notice of intention to quit, then due on last day of employment)
Idaho Not specified
Illinois At time of separation, if possible, or next regular payday
Indiana Next regular payday
Iowa Next regular payday
Kansas Next regular payday
Kentucky Next regular payday or 14 days, whichever is later
Louisiana If terminated, three days
If quit, next regular payday or 15 days, whichever is earlier
Maine Next regular payday or two weeks after demand for payment
Maryland Next regular payday
Massachusetts If terminated, immediately
If quit, next regular payday
Michigan As soon as the amount owed can be determined
Minnesota If terminated, immediately
If quit, next regular payday (if next payday is within five days, payment may be within 20 days)
Mississippi Not specified
Missouri If terminated, immediately
If quit, next regular payday
Montana Next regular payday or 15 days, whichever earlier
Nebraska Next regular payday or two weeks, whichever is earlier
Nevada If terminated, immediately
If quit, regular payday or seven days, whichever is earlier
New Hampshire If terminated, within 72 hours
If quit, next regular payday (unless employee gives one pay period’s notice of intention to quit, then 72 hours)
New Jersey Next regular payday
New Mexico Five days (unless wages are based on commission, then 10 days)
New York Next regular payday
North Carolina Next regular payday
North Dakota If terminated, within 15 days or next regular pay period, whichever earlier
If quit, next regular payday
Ohio Not specified
Oklahoma Next regular payday
Oregon By the end of first business day after termination
Pennsylvania Next regular payday
Rhode Island Next regular payday
South Carolina If terminated, 48 hours or next regular payday
If quit, next regular payday
South Dakota Next regular payday
Tennessee Next regular payday or 21 days, whichever is later
Texas If terminated, within six days
If quit, next regular payday
Utah Within 24 hours
Vermont If terminated, within 72 hours
If quit, next regular payday
Virginia Next regular payday
Washington Next regular payday
West Virginia If terminated, within 72 hours
If quit, next regular payday
Wisconsin Next regular payday
Wyoming Within five days
image_pdfimage_print